Getting Your Virginia Driver’s License Reinstated
If your Virginia driver’s license has been suspended, you may be eligible to get it reinstated. Requirements for driver’s license reinstatement vary depending on what information, fees, etc. are needed by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.
Driver’s License Reinstatement Online
In some instances, you may be able to satisfy the DMV’s requirements without having to go to a DMV customer service center. These instances include:
- Providing the DMV with a Certification of Insurance (SR22 or FR44) from an insurance company that is licensed to do business in Virginia
- Submit forms for attending a driver improvement clinic
- Provide the DMV with your medical or vision report
- Submit proof of completion of VASAP — Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program
- Comply with an order from Division of Child Support Enforcement
- Provide motor vehicle insurance information
- Provide proof that you’ve satisfied a judgment in full
- Pay licensing fees
- Pay fees for reinstatement ranging from $145 to $220
Reinstatement of a Virginia Driver’s License
On July 1, 2019, the Virginia law that allowed a person’s driver’s license to be suspended for a failure to pay court fines and costs was changed. The change means that if you had your driver’s license suspended for failing to pay court fines and costs, your license was eligible to be reinstated on July 1, 2019 without the need to pay a reinstatement fee. (This does not apply to the failure to pay tolls, however.)
Driver’s License Reinstatement Process
If your Virginia driver’s license was suspended prior to July 1, 2019 for failure to pay court fines and costs, here’s what you need to do to get your license reinstated:
1) Make sure your mailing address is up-to-date by visiting dmvNOW.com.
2) The DMV will be contacting individuals who currently live in Virginia and are suspended for failure to pay court fines and costs to advise them of their specific requirements to get their driver’s licenses.
3) The customers will go through the standard application process, including a new photo and vision screening.
4) There may be other requirements, as well, such as proof of permanent legal presence in the United States (i.e. birth certificate, U. S. Passport, legal permanent resident card) and/or testing, depending upon whether there is evidence the individual has ever held a license.
5) If there is evidence someone has held a license, no testing will be required unless required as a result of a driver’s license revocation.
6) Customers who still have their physical license and it is not expired and who have presented DMV with proof of their permanent legal presence in the United States (i.e. birth certificate, U. S. Passport, legal permanent resident card) will not need to take any action. Their licenses will be valid as of July 1.
7) Customers who do not have their physical license and/or the license is expired will have to obtain a replacement driver’s license or renew their license and will pay the usual driver’s license issue fee ($20 for a replacement or $32 for an eight-year renewal, an additional $10 for REAL ID). If the customer has not presented DMV with proof of their permanent legal presence in the United States (i.e. birth certificate, U. S. Passport, legal permanent resident card), proof of legal presence will be required.
8) Individuals who do not live in Virginia need not take any action if their driving privilege was suspended solely for failure to pay court fines and costs. Their Virginia suspensions for failure to pay court fines and costs will no longer be visible to other states’ driver licensing agencies on/after July 1.
If you are eligible to have your driver’s license reinstated, you may be required to complete the full application process or just renew or replace your license. The requirements for each process are outlined below:
Driver’s License Reinstatement — Full Application Process
- Complete the application
- Give the DMV two forms of ID
- Provide birth certificate, U.S. Passport, or legal permanent resident card
- Complete all testing (vision, two-part knowledge test, driving test)
- Pay $32.00 for the license
Driver’s License Reinstatement — Renew Your License
- Provide the DMV your birth certificate, U.S. Passport, or legal permanent resident card
- Pass and vision screening test
- Take a new photo
- Pay $32.00 to renew your license
- You may have to pay an additional $5.00 if you elect to go to the DMV Customer Center to renew your license
Driver’s License Reinstatement — Replace Your License
- Complete the application
- Give the DMV 2 forms of ID
- Take a new photo
- Pay $20.00 to replace your license
Ritchie Law Firm — Experienced Personal Injury Lawyers
The Ritchie Law Firm has successfully served personal injury victims for nearly a half-century. To best serve our clients, we have offices in 5 locations: Harrisonburg, Winchester, Staunton, and Charlottesville in Virginia as well as Martinsburg, WV.
The Ritchie Law Firm only represents victims of all types of personal injuries, and we’ve done that for nearly half a century. We don’t represent insurance companies. You can talk to us for free. We work on a contingency fee, which means there’s no fee unless we win your case.
When Your Health And Family Are On the Line
We Go Into BATTLE for you!
You can talk to us for FREE
Get Your Free Case Evaluation
"*" indicates required fields